Co-parenting apps keep messages, schedules and expenses in one documented place. We compared six of them on what they cost both parents, what records they produce and who each one suits.

The best co-parenting app for your family depends on three things: what your custody order says, how much conflict you are managing and what both parents can afford. A good co-parenting communication app moves messages, schedules, expenses and payments out of texts and into one place, with a timestamped record of who said what.
We compared OurFamilyWizard, TalkingParents, AppClose, BestInterest, 2houses and Cozi on price, records and conflict tools. Two of them, AppClose and TalkingParents, dropped their free plans in 2026, so older reviews may quote prices that no longer apply.
Affiliate disclosure
Some links on this page are affiliate links. If you sign up through one, DivorceHub may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Commissions never decide which apps we include or how we rank them. Read our editorial standards.
Legal information, not legal advice
This page explains how co-parenting apps work and what they cost. It is not legal advice. Your custody order, your state's laws and your judge decide how an app is used in your case. Speak to a family law attorney about your situation.
US scope
This guide covers apps and prices for parents in the United States. Prices are in US dollars and can change. Check the provider's site before you buy.
Best for court-ordered use
Judges and attorneys know it, and it gives free access to children, mediators and lawyers.
From $110 a year per parent
Read the reviewBest for recorded calls and unchangeable records
Every plan keeps messages that neither parent can edit or delete.
From $7 a month per parent
Read the reviewBest all-in-one plan at one price
One plan covers messaging, calls, payments and certified record exports.
$83.88 a year prepaid, per parent
Read the reviewBest free option and best for high conflict
The free plan covers messaging, a calendar, expenses and exports, paid plans filter hostile messages, and it works when your ex refuses to join.
Free plan, paid from $99.99 a year
Read the reviewBest for one bill for the whole family
One subscription covers both parents, the children and third parties.
$169.99 a year for the family
Read the reviewBest for low-conflict families who just need a calendar
A family organiser with a free version, though it does not produce records.
Free, or $39 for Cozi Gold
Read the reviewWe compared each app on its published features, plans and prices, taken from each provider's own website on 28 September 2026. We have not given the apps scores. The right app depends on your custody order, your budget and how much conflict you are managing, so we set out what each one specialises in and let you match it to your situation.
We looked at five areas:
| Area | What we looked at |
|---|---|
| Records | Whether messages can be edited or deleted, timestamps, certified or verified exports, and how many exports each plan allows |
| Cost to the family | Price for both parents over a year, whether each parent pays, free trials, fee waivers, and costs in add-ons or payment fees |
| Conflict tools | Tone checking, message filtering and writing assistants |
| Scheduling and money | Shared calendar, expense logging, reimbursements and in-app payments |
| Access and safety | Use without the other parent joining, fee waivers for hardship or domestic violence, and child and professional accounts |
We do not accept payment for placement, and affiliate commissions do not change what we say about any app.
| App | Built for | Standout features | Main limitation |
|---|---|---|---|
| OurFamilyWizard | Court-ordered cases and families working with attorneys, mediators or parenting coordinators | Free child, professional and third-party accounts. Certified records on Premium and Max. Writing Assistant. GPS check-ins. OFWpay | Each parent pays. Call recording only on Max |
| TalkingParents | Parents who need a record neither side can change | Unalterable records and recorded calls on every plan. Vault file storage | No free plan since March 2026. 2% to 4% payment fees |
| AppClose | Parents who want every feature at one price | Unlimited calls with optional recording. ipayou payments. Unlimited certified exports. Eight languages | Each parent pays. No free plan since January 2026 |
| BestInterest | High-conflict co-parenting and parents whose ex will not join | Free plan with no time limit. Message Shield and Tone Guardian. Solo Mode. Boundary Line number | Newer, with less recognition among courts. Verified reports need a paid plan |
| 2houses | Cooperative parents who want one bill | One subscription covers both parents, children, third parties and mediators. Family journal | No in-app calls. Export format not stated |
| Cozi | Low-conflict families who only need a shared calendar | Free shared calendar, lists and meal planning | No records. Not built for co-parenting |
| Feature | OurFamilyWizard | TalkingParents | AppClose | BestInterest | 2houses | Cozi |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free plan | No | No | No. 60-day trial | Yes | No. 14-day trial | Yes |
| One subscription covers the family | No | No | No | No. Co-parent can stay on Free | Yes | Yes |
| Certified or unalterable records | Premium and Max | All plans | All plans | Paid plans | Not stated | No |
| In-app calls | Essentials and above | All plans | Yes, unlimited | Paid plans | No | No |
| Call recording | Max | All plans | Optional | Protect Plus | No | No |
| Tone or message tools | Essentials and above | Ultimate | Co-Parent Assist | Protect and above | No | No |
| Shared calendar | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Expense tracking | Yes | Via Accountable Payments | Yes | Yes | Yes | No |
| In-app payments | OFWpay | Yes, 2% to 4% fee | ipayou | No. Tracking only | No | No |
| Works without co-parent joining | Partly. Calendar, journal and records for your own use | No. Accounts must be matched | Yes, AppClose Solo | Yes, Solo Mode | No | n/a |
| Fee waivers | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes, for Protect | Not stated | n/a |
| Free child or professional accounts | Yes | No third-party access. PDF records can be shared | Professionals via AppClose Pro | Not stated | Yes | Family members |
| App | Starting price | Who pays | Free option | Records | Calls | Best for | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OurFamilyWizard | $110/yr (Basic) | Each parent | No. Fee waivers available | Timestamped messages, certified records on Premium and Max | Premium and Max | Court-ordered use | Visit site |
| TalkingParents | $7/mo (Essentials) | Each parent | No. Fee waivers available | Unalterable records on all plans | All plans (30 min to unlimited) | Recorded calls | Visit site |
| AppClose | $83.88/yr prepaid | Each parent | 60-day trial. Fee waivers available | Unlimited certified record exports | Unlimited, optional recording | All-in-one pricing | Visit site |
| BestInterest | Free | Each parent picks a plan | Yes, no time limit | Data exports free, verified reports on paid plans | Paid plans | Free use, high conflict | Visit site |
| 2houses | $169.99/yr | One parent covers the family | 14-day trial | Not stated | No | One family bill | Visit site |
| Cozi | Free ($39 Gold) | One account for the family | Yes, with ads | None | No | Low-conflict scheduling | Visit site |
Best for court-ordered use
From $110/yr per parent
OurFamilyWizard is one of the most widely used apps among family courts and attorneys. It combines timestamped messaging, a shared calendar, expense tracking and payments, and it gives free accounts to children, mediators, attorneys and other third parties.
Pricing. Each parent needs their own subscription, though one parent can pay for both.
Two-year plans cost less per year. A full refund is available within the first 30 days. OurFamilyWizard offers fee waivers to parents who qualify and discounts for military families.
What it does well
Drawbacks
Best for: parents whose custody order names OurFamilyWizard, or whose attorney or mediator already uses it.
Best for recorded calls
From $7/mo per parent
TalkingParents keeps a permanent record of every message, call and shared file. Neither parent can edit or delete anything once it is sent, which makes its records useful when communication breaks down.
Pricing. Each parent pays for their own plan, and parents can sit on different plans.
Annual billing saves about 8%. TalkingParents ended its free plan on 30 March 2026. It now offers fee waivers to parents who qualify.
What it does well
Drawbacks
Best for: parents who need recorded calls and a record that neither side can alter.
Best all-in-one plan
$83.88/yr prepaid per parent
AppClose sells one plan with every feature included: messaging, audio and video calls, a shared calendar, expense tracking, payments through ipayou and certified record exports. It ran free for years and moved to paid subscriptions on 1 January 2026.
Pricing. Each parent needs an active subscription, though you can buy one for your co-parent on the web.
New users get a 60-day free trial with no card required. AppClose gives free accounts to parents in financial hardship and to domestic violence survivors, with discounts for active military and veterans.
What it does well
Drawbacks
Best for: parents who want every feature for one flat price and are happy to prepay a year.
Best free option and for high conflict
Free plan available
BestInterest focuses on high-conflict co-parenting. Its paid plans filter hostile incoming messages and review yours before you send them, and its Solo Mode works when the other parent refuses to join.
Pricing. Each parent chooses their own plan. Your co-parent can stay on the free plan while you pay.
Paid plans include a two-week free trial. BestInterest offers fee waivers for parents who need the Protect features.
What it does well
Drawbacks
Best for: parents on a tight budget, and parents dealing with a hostile ex who will not use an app.
Best for one family bill
$169.99/yr per family
2houses covers the whole family with one subscription. One parent pays and both parents get the same rights on the account, along with children, third parties and mediators.
Pricing. $169.99 a year, billed once. A 14-day free trial is available. The co-parent can take over payments at any time.
What it does well
Drawbacks
Best for: cooperative parents who want to split one bill.
Best for low-conflict calendars
Free, $39 for Gold
Cozi is a family organiser with a shared calendar, shopping lists, to-do lists and meal planning. It was not built for co-parenting and produces no records, but plenty of low-conflict families use it to keep two households on the same schedule.
Pricing. Free with ads. Cozi Gold costs $39 and adds a month view on mobile, calendar search, change notifications and removes ads for every family member.
Best for: parents who get along and only need a shared calendar. If there is any chance of a court dispute, use one of the apps above.
OurFamilyWizard and TalkingParents are two of the best-known apps among family courts and attorneys. Both charge each parent separately. The right choice comes down to which features your case needs and which app your order names, if any.
| Feature | OurFamilyWizard | TalkingParents |
|---|---|---|
| Price per parent | $110 to $299.88 a year | $7 to $32 a month |
| Cheapest year for both parents | $220 (Basic) | $168 (Essentials, monthly) |
| Free plan | No. Fee waivers and military discounts | No, since 30 March 2026. Fee waivers |
| Records | Timestamped messages. Unlimited certified records on Premium and Max | Unalterable records and unlimited PDF records on every plan |
| Calls | Receive-only on Basic, 45 minutes on Essentials, unlimited on Premium and Max | 30 minutes, 60 minutes or unlimited, depending on plan |
| Call recording | Max plan only | Accountable Calling on every plan |
| Tone and writing tools | Writing Assistant from Essentials | Sentiment Scanner and Writing Assist on Ultimate |
| In-app payments | OFWpay. 12 payments on Essentials, unlimited on Premium and Max | All plans, with a 2% to 4% fee |
| Free extra accounts | Children, third parties, attorneys, mediators | No third-party access. PDF records can be shared with attorneys |
| Refund or trial | Full refund within 30 days | Not stated. Fee waivers available |
| Use if your co-parent will not join | Partly, for your own calendar, journal and records | No. Both accounts must be matched |
Choose OurFamilyWizard if your order names it, your attorney, mediator or parenting coordinator already uses it, or you want free accounts for your children and professionals.
Choose TalkingParents if you need recorded calls on a budget, or you want a record neither parent can alter from the cheapest plan upward. Parents can sit on different TalkingParents plans, so one parent can pay less.
If neither app is named in your order, compare the full cost for both parents in the table below before you commit.
In a high-conflict co-parenting relationship, the app has two jobs: cut down the number of hostile exchanges, and keep a record that holds up if you go back to court. Look for these features:
Our pick for high conflict: BestInterest for filtering and solo use, with TalkingParents close behind for unalterable records and recorded calls. If your order names an app, use it, and pair it with a structured reply method such as BIFF, which we cover in our guide to parallel parenting.
If the conflict involves abuse, threats or a protective order, read the safety note below before choosing any app.

Most co-parenting apps charge each parent separately. The headline price is half of what a family pays when both parents need full access.
| App and plan | Billing | One parent per year | Both parents per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| BestInterest Free | Per parent | $0 | $0 |
| Cozi Gold | Per family | $39 | $39 |
| BestInterest Connect (one parent pays, other on Free) | Per parent | $99.99 | $99.99 |
| AppClose, one year prepaid | Per parent | $83.88 | $167.76 |
| TalkingParents Essentials, monthly | Per parent | $84 | $168 |
| 2houses | Per family | $169.99 | $169.99 |
| AppClose, monthly on web | Per parent | $95.88 | $191.76 |
| OurFamilyWizard Basic | Per parent | $110 | $220 |
| OurFamilyWizard Essentials | Per parent | $149.99 | $299.98 |
| TalkingParents Enhanced, monthly | Per parent | $192 | $384 |
| OurFamilyWizard Premium | Per parent | $216 | $432 |
Watch for three extra costs:
Payment fees.
TalkingParents charges 2% to 4% on in-app payments, depending on the plan.
Printed or certified records.
Some plans cap certified exports or charge for printed packages. If you expect to go back to court, check the export allowance before you choose a plan.
App store pricing.
AppClose costs $1 a month more through the app than on the web.
Many custody orders say who pays for a court-ordered app. If yours does not, you and your co-parent can agree to split it, or one parent can buy both subscriptions on apps that allow it.
2026 price changes
If you used AppClose or TalkingParents for free, you now pay. AppClose ended its free model on 1 January 2026 and replaced it with a 60-day trial. TalkingParents ended its free plan on 30 March 2026.
Before you switch apps, export your full message history and keep a copy. If your custody order names a specific app, do not move to another one without agreement from your co-parent or a change to the order. Ask about fee waivers first. Both companies offer them to parents who qualify.
Yes. Family courts across the US can order parents to communicate through a named app, and some judges do so routinely in high-conflict cases. The order may also say who pays and how quickly each parent must reply. Our guide to parallel parenting covers how app-only communication works in practice.
Many apps describe themselves as court-approved. No national body approves co-parenting apps. The term usually means family courts have ordered parents to use the app, or accepted its records. What counts is whether your judge will order or accept a particular app, so check your custody order and local court rules.
If you need a free option a court will accept, ask your attorney or the court clerk which apps your court has ordered before. BestInterest has a free plan with exportable records, and OurFamilyWizard, TalkingParents and AppClose all offer fee waivers.
An app record does not guarantee a judge will accept it as evidence. The judge decides what is admissible under your state's rules of evidence. Tamper-proof timestamps and certified exports make records easier to authenticate, which is why apps sell them. Keep messages factual and child-focused, because anything you write can end up in front of the judge.
Co-parenting apps are available across the US, but a few state rules affect how you use them. Check these before you rely on an app's calls, payments or records.
Several apps record calls, including TalkingParents, AppClose, OurFamilyWizard on its Max plan and BestInterest on Protect Plus. Most states let you record a call when one person on it consents. Some states require every person to consent, or to know, before a call or conversation is recorded. According to Justia's 50-state survey of recording laws:
Before you use a recorded-call feature, check how the app tells the other parent the call is recorded. Speak to an attorney before recording any call outside an app.
Your child support order says whether support goes directly to the other parent or through your state's child support payment system, known as the State Disbursement Unit. If your order names the state system, pay through it. In-app tools such as OFWpay, TalkingParents' Accountable Payments and AppClose's ipayou suit shared expenses and reimbursements. Check your order before you use them for court-ordered support. Read more in how child support works.
Some states have laws that let a parenting plan include electronic contact, such as video calls through an app. FindLaw lists Indiana, Utah, Wisconsin and North Carolina as states with dedicated virtual visitation laws, and Florida, Illinois and Texas as states that allow it in parenting plans. In each case, electronic contact adds to in-person parenting time. It does not stand in for it. See how courts view virtual visitation.
When parents live in different states, the Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and Enforcement Act decides which state's court handles custody. Every state except Massachusetts had adopted it as of June 2024. A co-parenting app works across state lines, but the custody order that governs how you use it comes from one court. See our guide to long-distance co-parenting and which state has jurisdiction over custody.
OurFamilyWizard says judges in all 50 states have ordered families to use it. Whether your judge orders an app, which one they name and who pays depends on your court and your case. Check your custody order and your local court rules, and see our state divorce law guides for the custody rules where you live.
If you are experiencing domestic violence
A co-parenting app is not a safety plan. If a protective order is in place, follow its terms on contact, even if a parenting plan says to use an app. Tell the court about any safety concerns.
AppClose gives free accounts to domestic violence survivors, and other providers offer fee waivers. BestInterest's message filtering can reduce exposure to abusive messages.
The National Domestic Violence Hotline is free and confidential: call 1-800-799-7233 or text START to 88788.
You do not need a paid app to co-parent well. These options cost nothing:

1
Check your custody order first.
Judges often name a specific app in the custody order or parenting plan. If yours does, use that app, because switching to a different one can put you out of step with the order. If it does not name one, work through the steps below. See court-ordered apps for more.
2
Decide how much conflict you are managing.
Low conflict needs a calendar. High conflict needs unalterable records, and message filtering helps.
3
Work out the cost for both parents.
Multiply per-parent prices by two unless one of you will stay on a free plan.
4
Check the records you will get.
If there is any chance of returning to court, choose an app with certified or unalterable exports.
5
Consider whether your co-parent will join.
If not, BestInterest's Solo Mode still lets you document everything.
6
Use the free trial.
OurFamilyWizard offers a 30-day refund, AppClose a 60-day trial, BestInterest and 2houses two-week trials.
For more on setting communication rules, read co-parenting during divorce and creating a parenting plan that actually works.
A practical, step-by-step guide for everything you need to think about, before, during and after divorce.
Get It FreeIt depends on your situation. OurFamilyWizard suits court-ordered use, TalkingParents suits parents who need recorded calls and unchangeable records, and BestInterest is the strongest free option. If your custody order names an app, use that one.
No app carries a national court approval. BestInterest has a free plan with no time limit that covers messaging, a calendar, expense tracking and data exports, and its paid plans add verified court reports. If a court orders a paid app, OurFamilyWizard, TalkingParents and AppClose all offer fee waivers to parents who qualify.
They can be. The judge decides what is admissible under your state's evidence rules. Timestamped, unalterable records and certified exports are easier to authenticate than screenshots of texts.
It depends on the app. TalkingParents needs both parents to match accounts. OurFamilyWizard works for one parent's own calendar, journal and records. BestInterest's Solo Mode and AppClose Solo let you document communication and send requests even if your ex refuses to join. If a court orders an app, both parents must use it.
Your custody order may say. If it does not, parents often split the cost or each pay for their own account. OurFamilyWizard and AppClose let one parent pay for both.
OurFamilyWizard costs $110 to $299.88 a year per parent, depending on the plan. Each parent needs their own subscription, so Essentials costs a family $299.98 a year. Fee waivers are available to parents who qualify.
OurFamilyWizard and 2houses offer child accounts at no extra cost. Check the app's settings to control what children can see.
No. AppClose moved to paid subscriptions on 1 January 2026 and now costs $7.99 a month per parent on the web, or $83.88 for a prepaid year. New users get a 60-day free trial, and parents in financial hardship or escaping domestic violence can apply for a free account.
No. TalkingParents ended its free plan on 30 March 2026. Plans now cost $7, $16 or $32 a month per parent, and fee waivers are available to parents who qualify.